Skip to main content

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen [CUHK(SZ)] was founded through a Memorandum of Understanding between The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), Shenzhen University and the Shenzhen Municipal Government. The new University is a research-orientated, forward-thinking, non-profit making University, which places emphasis on cross-disciplinary teaching and research. The establishment of CUHK(SZ) is an initiative to help nurture future generations of university graduates who are international in outlook, learned in the disciplines they follow, upright in their character, and committed to serving the needs of society.CUHK(SZ) will draw upon CUHK’s traditions of academic excellence and no effort will be spared to ensure that the teaching quality at CUHK(SZ) is on a par with that of the CUHK, so that it will become a preferred research university located in Shenzhen, firmly rooted in China, and endowed with a global vision. Students will be provided with an education experience distinguished by a flexible credit unit system, a college system, whole person general education, bilingualism as well as multiculturalism. With the mission of advancing creation, preservation, application and dissemination of knowledge through the pursuit of excellence in teaching, research and public service; and the vision of establishing as a first-class research university regionally, nationally and internationally, CUHK(SZ) will provide world-class educational opportunities to students in the Pearl River Delta Region and China as a whole.Located in a picturesque site to the south of the Universiade Park in Longgang District, Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, the campus of CUHK(SZ) occupies an area of around 100 hectares (1 million square metres) with a buildable area of around 500,000 square metres. The green pastures, the rolling hills and the serene lake offer stunning views and a quiet learning environment. The initial phase (55,000 square metres) of campus construction was completed in March of 2014, whilst the phase 1 (300,000 square metres) construction is expected to be completed in 2016.There are three schools in CUHK(SZ), namely the School of Management and Economics, the School of Science and Engineering, and the School of Humanities and Social Science. The Senate of CUHK is responsible for the assessment and approval of the academic programmes. CUHK(SZ) will first welcome 300 undergraduate students in fall 2014 in the School of Management and Economics. The School of Science and Engineering (SSE) will begin to admit undergraduate students in 2015. The University will also start to admit postgraduate students in the academic year of 2014 to 2015.

Get job alerts from The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen straight to your inbox